Fisher, Wise, Benintendi Earn SEC Honors

FAYETTEVILLE — The Southeastern Conference recognized three Arkansas players when it handed out postseason awards Tuesday.

First baseman Eric Fisher earned second-team All-SEC honors and also was named to the conference’s all-defensive team. Catcher Jake Wise joined Fisher on the All-Defensive team, while outfielder Andrew Benintendi earned All-Freshman honors.

Fisher was recognized after hitting .265 with 9 home runs and 43 RBIs. The left-handed hitter leads Arkansas in home runs and ranks second in RBIs. He also has a .995 fielding percentage, committing only three errors in 61 games.

“I got some texts from a lot of my buddies this morning,” Fisher said of the honors Tuesday. “I went online and saw and was pretty excited. You work real hard all year and just to be able to get those awards and get rewarded for what you’ve been doing throughout the whole season, it’s real nice. I was excited.”

Wise also earned All-SEC Defensive honors after starting 49 of Arkansas’ 61 games behind the plate. The senior — who is questionable for the regional because of a hand injury — has thrown out 20 runners attempting to steal and has picked off six others. Both statistics lead the SEC.

Benintendi is hitting .282 with a home run and 26 RBIs in his first season with the Razorbacks. The Ohio native has been a lineup regular all season with 56 starts and leads Arkansas in runs scored (44) and stolen bases (15).

The SEC also announced its individual awards Tuesday. The winners included: Kentucky’s A.J. Reed (Player of the Year), LSU’s Aaron Nola (Pitcher of the Year), Florida’s Logan Shore (Freshman of the Year) and Mississippi State’s Seth Heck (Scholar-Athlete of the Year). Florida’s Kevin O’Sullivan also was named SEC Coach of the Year after leading the Gators to the conference’s regular season title.


1B - Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss

2B - Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt

3B - Austin Anderson, Ole Miss

SS - Vince Conde, Vanderbilt

C - Taylor Gushue, Florida

OF - Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss

OF - Ka’ai Tom, Kentucky

OF - Christin Stewart, Tennessee

DH/UTL - A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P - Aaron Nola, LSU

P - Logan Shore, Florida

RP - Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State


1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

3B - Max Kuhn, Kentucky

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU

C - Will Allen, Ole Miss

OF - Ben Moore, Alabama

OF - Harrison Bader, Florida

OF - Nick Banks, Texas A&M

DH/UTL - Wade Wass, Alabama

P - Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State

P - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

RP - Joel Seddon, South Carolina


1B - Peter Alonso, Florida

2B - JaVon Shelby, Kentucky

3B - John Sternagel, Florida

SS – Errol Robinson, Ole Miss

C - Gavin Collins, Mississippi State

OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M

OF - Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF - Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas

DH/UTL - Nick Senzel, Tennessee

P – Logan Shore, Florida

P - Keegan Thompson, Auburn

RP - Thomas Burrows, Alabama


P - Aaron Nola, LSU;

Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

SS - Seth Heck, Mississippi State

3B - Joey Pankake, South Carolina

C - Jake Wise, Arkansas;

Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF - Tanner English, South Carolina

OF - Andrew Stevenson, LSU