Tubert Wins Dinah Shore Trophy

TULSA, Okla. — Arkansas senior Emily Tubert was selected as the 2014 Dinah Shore Trophy winner from the LPGA Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Nabisco Dinah Shore Championship.

Tubert attended a banquet at the NCAA Championship in Tulsa, Okla., to receive her award.

“This is a tremendous honor for Emily and for our women’s golf program,” Arkansas head coach Shauna Estes-Taylor said. “My philosophy as a coach is to make sure our players are excelling in all areas of life and sport. Dinah Shore was a pioneer in women’s golf and laid a foundation to ensure that women’s golf continues to grow and prosper even at the collegiate level. It recognizes young woman for being great leaders and who excel on the golf course. Emily was a complete student-athlete and achieved success in school, golf, and in our community. She has had an amazing impact on our program and this is a great honor to be recognized by the LPGA Foundation and the Dinah Shore Award committee. “

Tubert is the second Razorback women’s golfer to be selected for the Dinah Shore Trophy Award. Former Razorback Stacy Lewis was selected in 2007 after winning the individual NCAA title as a junior. Arkansas is one of four programs to have multiple winners of the award. The SEC has won nine of the 19 awards.

The LPGA Foundation introduced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore. A selection committee of the LPGA Foundation chooses the Dinah Shore Trophy Award recipient from nominations submitted by the National Golf Coaches Association.

Nominees for the award must have an overall grade point average of at least a 3.2, have played in at least 50 percent of her team’s scheduled events, maintained a scoring average of 78 or less and demonstrated leadership skills and a commitment to community service.